Make your own free website on

History of Gracey's Battery

Gracey's Battery, was organized at the beginning of the War at Mint Springs, Kuttawa, Ky. as Lyon's Battery. Hylan B. Lyon, who had given up his commission in the United States Army and had returned to his home at Eddyville, Ky. when war between the States became inevitable, was made Captain of the Company. Robt. Cobb was made 1st LT and Frank Gracey was made 2nd LT. H. B. Lyon was soon promoted, and Cobb became captain of the Battery and Gracey advanced to 1st LT. The battery was known at this time as Cobb's Kentucky Battery. After Cobb was promoted to Major and chief of artillery for Breckinridge's Division following the battle of Chickamauga, Gracey was promoted to captain and the battery was known as Gracey's Kentucky Battery. Among the famous battles in which the Battery was engaged are Shiloh, Baton Rouge, Jackson, Sulphur Trestle, Resaca, Murfreesboro, Jonesboro, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge and Johnsonville.    

History of the Modern Gracey's Battery
Originally formed in 1998 by Dennie Rogers, Keith Karcher and Doug Key with the construction of their mountain howitzer "Paula Jo."  Since then the battery has grown to close to 50 people (civilians included) and has been to 7 states participating in reenactments and special events. It is a founding member of the Bluegrass Mountain Artillery, and the Kentucky Orphan Brigade.  All cannons and cannoneers are safety qualified under NCWAA guidelines.